How to make an emergency school Kit

Flu season is approaching and I find myself becoming more aware of my surroundings. I physically cringe when someone nearby sneezes, spewing thousands of germs towards me at about 100 miles/ per hour.  It’s worse when you’re on the opposite side of the spectrum, and people give you dirty looks after a particularly loud sneeze.

I understand because I’m currently getting over a cold.

Let me ask you. Have you ever sat in a lecture hall and felt self -conscious because you had no tissue paper to use and didn’t want to get up? Instead you just covered your nose to avoid grossing out fellow classmates.

Never be un-prepared again

9 things to keep in your emergency school kit

h1

The first thing to keep in mind is storage. How many items will be in your kit? Also keep in mind the opaqueness of the bag if you are carrying private items such as tampons or sanitary napkins.

You can use anything from a zip lock bag, extra pencil case or cosmetic bag

1) Sanitary/beauty items

h2

  • Tissue paper packets, hand sanitizer/wetwipes

(I got a 10 pack of tissue packets at the dollar store for $ 1.50)

  • lip-balm, non -scented small hand lotion (Be mindful of fragrance allergies)

The lotion is great to keep your skin moisturized during cold weather.

2) First Aid/Medication

  • Have a couple of bandages on stand-by in case of any accidents
  • Any emergency medications like epi pens or asthma inhalers
  • over the counter medications like Advil, Claritin/ Singulair (For allergies)
  • Throat lozenges (I usually get halls or a family pack of Ricola herb lozenges if they are on sale)

** Keep in mind though some allergy medications can make you drowsy. Personally Reactine non-drowsy tablets make me sleepy, so I stick with Singulair or Claritin

3) Hair –Care

  • Pop-up hair brush/comb
  • Sample deodorant (optional)
  • Bobby pins /hair ties

4) Empty Water bottle or mug /snacks (like a granola bar)

  • In the winter seasons I bring a lightweight travel mug so I can bring my tea in the morning and re-fill the mug with water throughout the day. I also get hungry very often so I bring my own snacks.

5) Sanitary Napkins/Tampons

  • I rather be safe than sorry. Although you can buy pad/tampons at utm, it doesn’t hurt to have one in your bag at all times.

6) Money

  • Small change/bills (like five or ten dollars)
  • You never know when you need change for printing money or if you’re really hungry and need a snack.

7) Extra pencil/pen

  • This is great when you forget to bring your pencil on test-day. Its reassurance.

8)  Breath mint/gum, floss

  • Great if you have bad morning breathe or you need a boost to stay awake in class (Pepper-mint helps)

9)  Electronics

  • Phone+ charger (so you don’t have to ask to use someone else’s phone
  • Mp3 player ( so you don’t have to worry about drooping your phone during a run)

Feel Free to remind me of any missing items or share recommendations

Leave a Reply

